Inaugural Harness Million just a day away

By Dave Di Somma, Harness News Desk 

If hotpot Krug wins the first ever Harness Million Colts and Geldings Final at Alexandra Park tomorrow night it will have shades of 2012.

Back then it was Bit of A Legend, driven by Dexter Dunn, and trained by Cran Dalgety,who won what was then called the PGG Wrightson Yearling Sales 2YO Open. Tomorrow’s race is for NZB Standardbred yearling sales graduates, and has attracted 14 starters, including five from the all-powerful All Stars stable.

Like Bit of a Legend, Krug was initially trained by Cran Dalgety (and Nathan Purdon),until Chrissie Dalgety officially replaced her husband in the partnership this season. The recently-crowned two-year-old of the year is currently at $1.45 to make it career win number eight from just 11 starts.

Coincidentally it’s Purdon’s father Mark who has been involved in every victory in the race since 2012, that’s seven wins in a row for the All Stars stable, with horses such as One Change last year and Lazarus (2015).

Purdon has driven the winner six times while training partner Natalie Rasmussen has won it twice (The Devils Own 2017 and Alta Orlando 2014).This Friday they will line up five horses.

Blair Orange has also won it three times (Western Cullen 2011, Steve McQueen 2007, and Lennon 2003).

Friday’s race is like a re-run of last week’s Garrard’s Sires Stakes Final for the 3YO Colts and Geldings over 1700 metres at Alexandra Park.Paying $11.70 American Dealer made the most of his handy draw (4) to beat Krug and It’s All About faith.

This week the draws have many picking the result will be very different. Krug has drawn one and has been installed the sharpest of favourites, with It’s All About Faith ($3.20), the All Stars’ top chance, drawing six, and American Dealer ($18) at 13. The $200,000 final – the first ever Harness Million Final for 3YO Colts and Geldings - will be raced over the slightly longer distance of 2200 metres.

Champions over the years have included such superstars as Changeover (2006) and Courage Under Fire (1998) and Christian Cullen (1997).

For a list of previous winners and to watch previous editions of the race click here :


Related Category News

23 May 2024

Harness racing : The facts and figures for 2022-23

The Racing New Zealand Board has released its 2022-23 size and scope report. The report, commissioned by Racing New Zealand and the TAB, was carried out by IER.

22 May 2024

News Briefs : May 22

Jason Grimson’s two New Zealand Cup contenders will clash at Menangle on Saturday night.