Details Confirmed for Hygain Revell Douglas Memorial Series

South Auckland horseman Revell Douglas sadly passed away in January 2021 at Karioitahi Beach after saving his children who got in trouble while swimming.

Revell was passionate about seeing young people in the industry succeed and was also a grass roots man. A hobby trainer who enjoyed the summer grass track meetings the most.

Revell also worked for Hygain, who have come on board along with Revell’s father Don to establish the new Hygain Revell Douglas Memorial Series for junior drivers to remember Revell and help promote the young drivers in the industry.

The Hygain Revell Douglas Memorial Series for junior drivers will be held over four races in January 2022.

Harness Racing New Zealand has just released its guidelines for the series, with the opening race at Wyndham on January 6, followed by Cambridge (Jan 20), Auckland (Jan 21) and finishing at Methven on Jan 30.

Junior drivers can compete in the North Island or South Island heats, but not both. In order to support the races in the North Island, South Island junior drivers Wilson House, Gemma Thornley and Tom Bamford will be driving in the North Island races.

Points will be allocated from 17 points for the winner, down to seven points for sixth place.

The winner of the series will receive a scholarship from series sponsor Hygain. Revell Douglas worked for the Australian-based horse feed company for eight years.
It's planned to hold the series annually for the next five years at least.

For more information on the series click here


Related Category News

15 November 2023

Agreement reached over Forbury Park site in South Dunedin

The Forbury Park site in South Dunedin will soon be on the market, following an agreement this week between Forbury Park Trotting Club Inc (FPTC), Harness Racing New Zealand (HRNZ) and SEED Housing Limited.

7 June 2023

HRNZ announces changes to its Board

John Coulam and Kevin McNaught have resigned as Chair and Deputy Chair respectively of the Harness Racing New Zealand Board, and have been replaced by Phil Holden and Cam Bray.