Aussie stars add intrigue to NZ Cup nominations

Group 1-winning stars Lochinvar Art and Majestic Cruiser headline a quartet of Australians that have been nominated for the IRT New Zealand Cup at Addington on Tuesday, November 8.

Lochinvar Art, one of Australia's most decorated pacers, has already won seven Group Ones including the Hunter and Victoria Cups but has never raced on this side of the Tasman while Majestic Cruiser proved he's up with the best in Australasia by taking out of the Group 1 Messenger at Alexandra Park in April, after finishing second to 2020 New Zealand Cup champion Self Assured in The Race at Cambridge.

Joining Majestic Cruiser in the nominations, which closed this week, are fellow Australian-based pacers Rock N Roll Doo and Cast No Shadow.

Both Kiwi bred, Rock N Roll Doo has been in a rich vein of form of late for Mick Stanley with two wins in his last four starts at Melton, while the former Paul Court and Bob Butt-trained Cast No Shadow has won 17 races, dead heating in his last start victory at Albion Park.

Numbers-wise Robert and Jenna Dunn have the biggest representation with five nominations - Classie Brigade, Smiffy's Terror, Sam's Town, Heisenberg and Steel The Show, while Steve and Amanda Telfer have three with B D Joe, Alta Wiseguy and Allamericanlover.

Defending champion Copy That, who's currently racing in Australia, is nominated too, as is Self Assured and fellow All Stars guns Spankem and Akuta. Emerging star Old Town Road is also there, having furnished a fine record of seven wins from ten starts for northern trainer John Dickie.

The full list of nominations (40) for the IRT New Zealand Cup is :



Alta Wiseguy

American Me

B D Joe

Cast No Shadow

Classie Brigade

Copperhead Rose

Copy That

Corravally Star


Di Caprio

Got You Covered


Heza Sport

Hot And Treacherous


Johnny Mac



Last Tango In Heaven


Lochinvar Art

Macandrew Aviator

Majestic Cruiser

Mikey Maguire

Old Town Road

One Change

Pembrook Playboy

Rock N Roll Doo

Sam's Town

Self Assured

Smiffy's Terror

South Coast Arden


Steel The Show

Stylish Memphis


The Falcon

Tommy Waterhouse


The Dominion :

Trotting's great race the Dominion, on Friday November 11, features 27 nominations including two-time champion and record holder Sundees Son. He won in both 2020 and 2021, with his victory last year being in a scintillating 3:56.6.

The reigning Horse of the Year is one of three nominations for Team Dunn, along with Aardiebythehill and Mataderos.

Sundees Son's greatest rivals in recent times - Bolt For Brilliance and Muscle Mountain - are also nominated.

Muscle Mountain is one of three nominations from the Greg and Nina Hope barn along with Enghien and Midnight Dash.

Regan Todd also has two nominations, with Oscar Bonavena and the recently-acquired Andy Hall, as does Paul Nairn with Matua Tana and 2019 Dominion winner Habibi Inta.

The full list of nominations (27) for The Dominion is :


Aflyin Spur

Andy Hall

Bolt For Brilliance

Chief Of Staff


Five Wise Men

Habibi Inta

Harold Smith


Majestic Lavros

Majestic Man


Matua Tana


Midnight Dash

Muscle Mountain

One Over Da Stars

Oscar Bonavena

Over The Love

Sioux Princess

Smokin Bandar

Son Of Patrick

Sundees Son

The Dominator

The Fox



Nominations for the Graphite Developments Futurity will remain open till next Wednesday.


Related Category News

11 December 2023

Next gen Kiwis heading to IDs big finale

While there are no Kiwi trained horses and/or top drivers competing on the final night of the Inter Dominions in Queensland this Saturday, there will still be some involvement from this side of the Tasman.  

11 December 2023

Purdon's split second decision pays dividends on GP day

Pulling the left rein proved to be a case of pulling the right rein for Mark Purdon in the Group One New Zealand Trotting Free-For-All at Addington on Grand Prix Day.