Nominations wanted for NZ Rural Sports Awards

The Norwood New Zealand Rural Sports awards are back in 2023, after a Covid-enforced absence, and the call is out for nominations.

Now in their seventh year, the awards have featured previous harness racing-related winners including top junior driver Sarah O'Reilly for outstanding young rural person, Ricky May and his "lifetime legacy" award and Kidz Kartz founders Deneece and Murray Goldsworthy for their outstanding contribution to rural sports.

Due to the last ceremony being cancelled all achievements in 2021 and 22 will be considered for next year's awards.

The winners will be announced at a function at Awapuni racecourse on Friday, March 10 2023 during the New Zealand Rural Games weekend in Palmerston North.

Nominations are now open for:

· The PTS Logistics New Zealand Rural Sportsman of the Year Award

· The Skellerup New Zealand Rural Sportswoman of the Year Award

· The Fonterra Young New Zealand Rural Sportsperson of the Year Award

· The Levno Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rural Sports Award

· The Courtesy Ford Lifetime Legacy Award

· Future Post Rural Sportsperson with a Disability

Nominations close 5:00pm, 23 January 2023 and finalists will be announced in February 2023.


Related Category News

25 July 2024

Big changes for Nathan Purdon in 2024

Nathan Purdon is upfront about where he is at.

24 July 2024

News Briefs : July 24

More than $33,000 was raised for Amanda Higgins and her family at Friday night's dinner and auction at Addington Raceway.