HRNZ Blue September Ambassadors

Harness Racing New Zealand is pleased to announce the 10 Harness Racing ambassadors for this year’s HRNZ Blue September campaign.

HRNZ is supporting the annual Prostate Cancer Foundation fundraiser for the first time this September.

It follows on from HRNZ’s on-going support of Team Teal raising awareness and funds for ovarian cancer research.

The 10 ambassadors for the 2021 campaign are:

Blair Orange
Brent Barclay
Jonny Cox
Korbyn Newman
Mark Hurrell
Matthew Williamson
Robbie Close
Todd Mitchell
Zachary Butcher
Zev Meredith

For every win by an ambassador at any domestic harness racing meeting in September HRNZ will donate $100 to the cause as will most of the clubs hosting meetings during that time.

Drivers Blair Orange and Robbie Close have also pledged $100 each to the cause for every win they have during the campaign.

After supporting the Team Teal Campaign earlier in the year, Mark Hurrell was one of the first male drivers to come forward wanting to be involved in the campaign “My dad had Prostate Cancer last year so I wanted to be a part of the campaign and help raise awareness so that people go and get regular checks,” said Hurrell.

The 10 drivers will wear blue silks with the Prostate Cancer Foundation logo during the month with the Clerk of the Courses around the country wearing white silks with the blue Prostate Cancer Foundation logo.

There will be 19 race meetings during the month, starting with Auckland and Invercargill on Sept 2.

For more information you can contact:
Courtney Buchanan
Harness Racing NZ
[email protected] or 027 636 4355


Related Category News

19 October 2021

Cup Week closed to public

For the first time in its 117-year history Addington Cup Week, held annually during the second week of November, will not be open to the public.

9 September 2021

Registrations open for Forbury Park drop-in sessions

People wanting to learn more about Dunedin’s Forbury Park and have a say on its future are being invited to register. . .