Otago awards finalists announced

By Jonny Turner

A star studded line up of New Zealand’s best pacers and broodmares will vie for titles at next month’s Otago Harness Racing Awards in Dunedin.

Classy youngsters Princess Tiffany and Ultimate Sniper will take on home town favourites Eamon Maguire and Majestic Man and northerners Speeding Spur and Havtime in the Best Otago Owned Horse category.

Bethany, the dam of Lazarus, One Over Kenny, the dam of Ultimate Stride, and Foreal, the dam of Field Marshal with square off with 100-win producer, Fleet’s Pocket, in the Broodmare Excellence category.

Each of those broodmare’s owners, Gavin Chin, Lex and Heather Williams and Syd and Shona Brown are finalists for Otago Breeder Of The Year alongside Archie Affleck.

Winners of the breeding awards and the Otago Horse Of The Year will be announced at a gala evening at Forbury Park on September 14.

A massive total of 23 titles will be awarded in age group trotting and pacing and training and driving categories.

Winners of the age group trotting and pacing awards will be eligible to be crowned Otago’s horse of the year.

Big race performers Cracker Hill, Ultimate Stride, Majestic Man and Jess Jaccka look to be some of the strongest contenders for the overall title.

More than one significant contribution award will industry members at the Otago awards.

Former champion thoroughbred trainer Dave O’Sullivan will be the guest speaker at the awards.

Tickets are available by contacting Lisa Butler at the Forbury Park Trotting Club on [email protected] or 03 455 2154.


Otago Harness Racing Awards Finalists:


2yr-old male pacers

The Ideal Touch.


2yr-old male trotters

Cracker Hill, Ultimate Stride.


3yr-old male pacers

Motu Top Mach, Parama.


3yr-old pacing fillies

Anne Bonney, Countess Of Arden, Miss Paddywagon, Tango Dancer, Ultimate Sassenach.


3yr-old male trotters

Count Eyre, Gazza Galleon, Havehorsewilltravel, Only One Way, Winning Bones.


3yr-old trotting fillies

Emma Frost, Liberty Stride, Fanny Hill, Spur To Action, Shes Like The Wind.


4yr-old male pacers

Allandale, Bettor Sensation, Candidasa, Jimmy Richter, Rockin Rod.


4yr-old pacing mares

Betstars Blue Jean, Blarney Babe, Ferrits Sister, Kotare Elite, Thisladyrocks,


4yr-old male trotters

Majestic Man, Springbank Lachie, Whatwillbeewillbee, The Commando. Majestic Connies.


4yr-old trotting mares

Bobinup, Deborahs Gem, Kenny's Dream, Our Gracie.


5yr-old and older male pacers

Alexy, Aveross Ferrari, Gabby’s Star, Fiery Ferrit, Red Terror.


5yr-old and older pacing mares

Bobbie’s Medley, Mad Dog Maddy, She’s Outstanding, Sounds Bettor,.


5yr-old and older trotter.

Dusky Eyre, Imran Khan, Monty Python, Pyramid Magic, That’s The Story.


5yr-old and older trotting mares

Alderbeck, Jen Jaccka, Pres The Belle.


Best Otago Owned Horse

Eamon Maguire, Havtime, Majestic Man, Princess Tiffany, Speeding Spur, Ultimate Sniper.


Broodmare excellence

Bethany, Fleet’s Pocket, One Over Kenny, Foreal.


Breeders Of The Year

Syd and Shona Brown, Gavin Chin, Lex and Heather Williams, Archie Affleck.



Other award categories:


Trainer of the year


Strike rate trainer of the year


Driver of the year 


Junior driver of the year


Significant contribution to Otago Harness Racing


Ferguson family award for most improved mare


Related Category News

30 September 2020

News Briefs – September 30

The Canterbury Park Trotting Cup has featured some legends over the years

30 September 2020

Lemond retires

Charlie Hunter and his old mate Lemond may have both been in the wars but only one of them is retiring.