Cadet Prizegiving Results

By Georgie Bolton

A busy year for the Canterbury and Southland Harness Horse Cadet Scheme was topped off with two very enjoyable and successful evenings celebrating the achievements of the cadets both inside the classroom and on the racetrack throughout the past year.

The Canterbury Cadet Scheme held their annual Prizegiving at Sixty6 on Peterborough. Jess Smith, as MC, was a superb compere. Her intriguing questions to the award recipients illustrated their developing confidence with public speaking. This year twelve awards were up for grabs- highlighting just how much support the Canterbury Cadet Scheme receives and the depth within the junior harness racing enthusiasts.

Amongst the prizes handed out was the Wayne Francis Memorial Award; this is awarded to the Senior Cadet who has displayed outstanding leadership qualities throughout the year and was won by Benjamin Laughton. The prestigious Darren J De Filippi Trophy is awarded every year to the trainee who has shown integrity, professionalism and has been well presented with good manners. The trophy went to the Danyelle Alfeld who was thoroughly deserving of this award, in a fitting twist Colin & Julie DeFilippi are Danyelle’s god parents so this made the award all the more special. Picking up another notable award was Olivia Thornley- she has shown all-round diligence and excellence throughout the course of the year and took home the J S Dalgety Trophy.

The 2018 Overall Top Graduating Cadet of the Year was presented with the Les Woods Memorial Trophy. Ben Hope, employed by Greg and Nina Hope, was this year’s leading Cadet. Since a young age Ben has been a regular on the racing scene, always willing to lend a hand around the stables with a smile on his face. Throughout the year Ben has displayed a high level of knowledge and skill both on and off the track whilst consistently producing high quality work. Ben has twice competed in the Annual Cadet of the Year Grand Final and Ben was also awarded the Canterbury Cadet Committee Scholarship that will fund him to travel to Australia for further work experience which we know he will make the most of.

To wrap up the evening we were privileged to have Assistant Crusader Coach, Brad Mooar, as our guest speaker. Brad was a very passionate and knowledgeable speaker who entertained the crowd with his honest anecdotes from his very long and illustrious career.

Ascot Park Hotel played host for the Southland edition of prizegiving where Julie McEwan-Franks stepped into the role of MC ensuring the evening ran smoothly whilst keeping it light-hearted and entertaining. Among the array of awards presented on the night was the Robin Dundee Club Trophy; this award recognises the female cadet who has the potential to promote the Harness Racing Industry and was won by Ellie Barron who is employed by her father Clark Barron.

The Southland Harness Racing Awards Committee Academic Excellence was won by Cathy Lowther who works for Hamish Hunter. Cathy has displayed excellence in all subjects covered; she always demonstrates a high level of skill and knowledge in every aspect of the course and is an integral part of the classroom. The 2018 Southland Harness Racing Awards Committee Graduating Cadet of the Year was won by Ellie Barron. Ellie is a professional and intelligent cadet who also won the 2018 Cadet of the Year Grand Final back in July- becoming the second Southerner to do so. Vinny Munro, resident Stipendiary Steward, was the fantastic guest speaker.  He shared with the audience many light hearted moments from his interesting background in not only the police force but also as an International Rugby Referee. A huge thanks must be extended to all of the sponsors who kindly donated trophies and prizes. Without this generous and on-going contribution award evenings would not be possible to run.

2018 Southland Harness Horse Cadet Scheme Award Winners

Southland Harness Racing Awards Committee ‘Academic Award’ - Cathy Lowther

Saddlery Warehouse ‘Integral part of the Classroom ‘Award - Oliver Kite                                                  

Otago/Southland Harness Horse Cadet Scheme ‘Most improved in the classroom’ - Daniel Anderson

Elite Racing Products ‘Potential to succeed in the industry ‘Award -Tristan Larsen

Southland Harness Racing Awards Committee ‘Diligence Award’  - Tom Larsen                 

Robin Dundee Club Trophy - Ellie Barron

Southland Harness Racing Awards Committee Cadet of the Year - Ellie Barron         


2018 Canterbury Harness Horse Cadet Scheme Award Winners

T C Behrns ‘Most Consistent’ Award  - Bryce Hyde

NZ Standardbred Breeders ‘All-round Diligence Award’  - Tess Watson

Les Purvis Memorial Award - Cameron Kirkwood

Margaret Graham Memorial Award “Female Cadet who has potential to promote the industry’ - Alana Cameron

Mahoney Family/Quested Challenge Trophy - Alison Ward

Dr Corin Murfitt Trophy  - Siv Diamont

Globe Lodge Trophy  - Sarah O’Reilly

J S Dalgety Trophy  - Olivia Thornley

Wayne Francis Memorial in conjunction with Canterbury Trotting Owners Association - Benjamin Laughton                     

Darren J De Filippi Trophy - Danyelle Alfeld

Les Woods Memorial Trophy ‘Graduating Cadet of the Year’  - Ben Hope

Canterbury Cadet Committee Scholarship Award - Ben Hope


Related Category News

27 September 2020

Franco Santino Southland Horse Of The Year

In what must be a New Zealand first, Franco Santino has been crowned the Southland Horse Of The Year for the 2019-20 season in the gear shed at his trainer’s stable.

26 September 2020

Promising trotter takes win in his Stride

Showy chestnut Leaf Stride kept his undefeated record intact when winning the Haras des Trotteurs Sires’ Stakes Prelude Mobile Trot (1980m) at Addington Raceway on Friday night.