Australasian Young Drivers NZ Representatives Announced

The New Zealand Representatives for the 2019 Australasian Young Drivers Championship have been found.

The Championship is to be held in New Zealand this year from the 7th December until the 13th December and will be held in the South Island and the North Island.

The Championship races will be run at the following meetings:
Saturday 7th: Addington
Sunday 8th: Methven
Tuesday 10th: Manawatu
Thursday 12th: Manawatu
Friday 13th: Auckland

To determine the participants for this year’s Championship we have applied the following criteria:

- The driver must not have attained the age of twenty five (25) years at the date of the commencement of the New Zealand racing season (2019/20 season) and must have been a Junior Driver during the 2018/19 season.
- The winner of the NZ Junior Driver Championship from the 2018/19 season will represent New Zealand.
- The leading North Island Junior Driver from the 2018/19 season will represent the North Island.
- The leading South Island Junior Driver from the 2018/19 season will represent the South Island.

The drivers representing New Zealand are:

Sheree Tomlinson (Defending Champion, 2018 AYDC Winner)
Sarah O’Reilly ( Winner, 2018/19 NZ Junior Driver Championship) (New Zealand Rep)
John Morrison (Leading South Island Junior Driver) (South Island Rep)
Benjamin Butcher (Leading North Island Junior Driver) (North Island Rep)

Congratulations to our four representatives. We will have the Australian representatives at the end of their season and expect to announce these early in September.

If you have any questions in regards to this year’s Championship please contact me on the details below.
Courtney Clarke
Communications and Marketing Co-Ordinator
[email protected]
027 636 4355


Related Category News

5 November 2019

Fast10 Horse Racing Update

The word is out and plans are well underway with QHR Ltd assisting Addington Raceway & Events Centre in promoting the world’s first Fast10 Horse Racing event being held at Addington Raceway on 20 December.

23 October 2019

FastTrack Insurance Delivering Results for Harness Racing 

Ashburton’s Labour Day meeting will feature the first of thirteen new FastTrack Insurance $2. 5k added stake races, to be scheduled throughout the key spring and summer months of the 2019/20 racing season