Former AD Champions to the Fore

A strong quartet of former Amateur Champions who between them have claimed six NZ titles are lining up once again to stake their claim to the title of 2015 New Zealand Amateur Champion.

Heading the charge from the north island is Steve “the godfather” Phillips who along with his wife Anne were behind the introduction of Amateur racing back in 2001. The northern representation is bolstered by the presence of Jeff Darby who won back to back titles in 2012 & 2013 and represented New Zealand at last years World Champs in Finland where he finished a highly creditable 5th.

John “JK” Kriechbaumer rounds out the trio of northern champions who will be heading to the South Island for the first round of two heats at Rangiora on Sunday 19th April. The only former champion from the south island making the cut is the ever present Gavin Cook who is the other dual title holder winning the 2007 and 2014 titles. He backed up his first title by winning the World Championship in 2008 in the USA.

As is to be expected there is an enthusiastic group of wannabe champions keen to stake their claim.  A couple of standout first timers this season are the former junior drivers Alan Edge and the youngster of the south island team Daniel Reardon. Both have established a consistent string of top finishes to claim their places in the finals. Their proven record of putting together consistent results will see them well placed to take out the points based championship.

The New Zealand Amateur Championship is concluded with a further two heats at the Thames TC meeting at Alexandra Park on Sunday  3rd May. With two weeks between each round of heats it is going to be a nervous wait for the early leaders while they wait for the conclusion  of the series.

The twelve drivers selected to compete for the honour to be our next Amateur champion are:

North Island                                                      South Island

Jeff Darby                                                           Sue Blake

Steve Phillips                                                    Alan Edge

Gerry Cronin                                                      Richard Sissons

Danny Blakemore                                            Gavin Cook

John Kriechbaumer                                         Daniel Reardon

Ival Brownlee                                                    John McDermott