2018 NZ Junior Driver Championship


These conditions govern the conduct of the NZ Junior Driver Championship. They are made by the board pursuant to the Rules of Racing.

The qualifying period for the 2018 NZ Junior Driver Championship is 1 August 2017 to 11 June 2018. Within that qualification period Junior Drivers will earn points by three different methods. Firstly, in junior drivers only races. Secondly, in races that carry the condition for races to be Penalty Free if won by a Junior Driver (Regional Junior Drivers races). Lastly, in every other race for which a junior driver competes.

Points will be allocated to Junior Drivers’ within the qualifying period on the following basis:

From 1 August - 11 June: 

  • Junior Driver only races: 1st 12 points, 2nd 7, 3rd 5, 4th 3, 5th 2.
  • ‘Regional Junior Driver Races’: 1st 5 points, 2nd 3, 3rd 2.
  • ‘All other races’: 1st equals 3 points, 2nd 2 or 3rd 1.

The top six points scorers in each island at the conclusion of the qualifying period shall qualify to compete in the NZ Junior Driver Championship at Forbury Park Raceway on Thursday 12th July and Addington Raceway on Friday 13th July 2018.

All horsepersons holding a Junior Driver’s license at the start or have gained a licence during the current season will be eligible to compete.

In the event of an equality of points for any position at the conclusion of the qualifying period (June 11 2018), placings will be determined by the following count-back procedure.

(a) On the basis of the greatest number of wins in Junior Driver races for the qualifying period.

(b) On the basis of the greatest number of lifetime wins.

The NZ Junior Driver Championship shall be conducted over four races. Each race shall comprise of 12 starters with up to 2 emergencies in each case.

Championship races shall be run under the track safety limits of the host clubs/venues.

The re-entry time for Championship races shall be 12.00pm on the day of the meeting.

The allocation of drivers to horses in each Championship race shall be by lot.

No driver shall be allowed to drive a horse that he/she regularly works, trains or drives.

In the event a driver changes location (islands) within the qualifying period, the location where the greatest amount of time has been spent within the qualifying period shall be the island of representation for the championship.

The allocation of drivers for the first race of the Championship shall be made by lot. In subsequent races the allocation of drives shall be rotated in accordance with the following table:

Race 1   Race 2    Race 3   Race 4
1 4,5,6    7,8,9 10,11,12
2 4,5,6    7,8,9  10,11,12
3 4,5,6    7,8,9 10,11,12
4 7,8,9    10,11,12 1,2,3
5 7,8,9    10,11,12 1,2,3
6 7,8,9    10,11,12 1,2,3
7 10,11,12    1,2,3 4,5,6
8 10,11,12    1,2,3 4,5,6
9 10,11,12 1,2,3 4,5,6
10 1,2,3   4,5,6 7,8,9
11 1.2.3  4,5,6 7,8,9
12 1,2,3  4,5,6 7,8,9

Should the championship be contested over three races, instead of four, the barrier allocation will change from the above groups of three draws to four draws. In the case where just two races make up the championship six barrier draws will make up the respective grouping for the two heats.

Points awarded for each of the NZ Junior Driver Championship races shall be:

1st 17 points
2nd 12 points
3rd 10 points
4th 9 points
5th 8 points
6th 7 points

7th - 6 points

8th - 5 points

9th - 4 points

10th - 3 points

11th - 2 points

12th - 1 point

In the event of a dead heat for any place, the drivers of the dead heaters shall share equally the total points earned by the two, shared placings.

In the event of only 11 or less starters competing in a Championship race, points will be allocated from first place through to the last placed runner as per the above schedule.

In the event of a tie for first place following the 2018 NZ Junior Driver Championship, final placings shall be determined by applying the following count back procedure:

(a) On the basis of number of wins in the Championship races.

(b) On the basis of the number of seconds in the Championship races.

(c) On the basis of the number of thirds in the Championship races.

(d) On the Basis of the number of Junior Driver races won during the season.

(e) On the basis of the total number of races won for the season.

(f) On the basis of total lifetime wins.

In the event of a Junior Driver selected to compete in the NZ Junior Driver Championship being suspended or unable to compete due to accident, illness or for any other reason, the host clubs shall arrange a substitute Junior Driver but no points shall be awarded to that driver. If no substitute Junior Driver is available the horse shall be scratched.

In the event of a scratching which prevents a selected driver from participating in any Championship race, 7 points will be added to his/her Championship tally.

In the event of a runner being disqualified, from any finishing position. The competing driver of the disqualified runner will receive 1 point.

The NZ Junior Driver Championship will also determine the island that wins the challenge trophy. To determine the winning island points from each competitor will be added to their respective island’s total. The Island with the most points over the Championship will be awarded the challenge trophy. In the event of a tie the same count back procedure will be used which determines the individual champion.

Driving Fees will be paid to junior drivers competing in the championship.

If any matter should arise concerning the NZ Junior Driver Championship, which is not covered by these regulations, it shall be determined by the Chairman of Harness Racing New Zealand, whose decision shall be final.