## **2025 New Zealand Amateur Drivers Championship**

These conditions govern the conduct of the 2025 NZ Amateur Drivers Championship. They are made by the Board, pursuant to the Rules of Harness Racing.

- For the purposes of handicapping, the races on which the series will be determined shall be Rating Penalty Free (subject to clauses 11 and 15 of the Handicapping System Regulations) to the horses winning these races.
- 2. The top five drivers will be selected from each of the regional competitions in both the North and South Islands to make a total of ten drivers. North Island: John Kriechbaumer, Frank Phelan, Craig Sharpe, Andrew Sharpe, Bruce Hadley. South Island: Alan Edge, Colleen Negus, Neil Munro, Michael House, Cheree Wigg.
- 3. Each race in the series shall be restricted to no more than 10 starters plus up to two emergencies.
- 4. Heats of the series will be conducted at the following meetings: Waikato Harness 12 June, NZ Metropolitan TC 13 June, NZ Metropolitan TC 15 June.
- 5. The re-entry time for Championship races shall be 12.00pm on the day of the meeting for a Night meeting, and 7:30am on the day of the meeting for a Day meeting.
- 6. As far as possible the total number of races for the series shall be a minimum of four, with ten starters in each race and with each driver participating.
- 7. The allocation of drivers for the first race of the Championship shall be made by random lot. In subsequent races the allocation of drives shall be rotated in accordance with the following table. Should additional races be run then the table below will be adapted appropriately by HRNZ staff in conjunction with NZADA.

Draw	Heat 1	Heat 2	Heat 3	Heat 4	Heat 5
1	Random	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	Random
2	Random	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	Random
3	Random	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	Random
4	Random	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	Random
5	Random	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	Random
6	Random	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	Random
7	Random	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	Random
8	Random	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	Random
9	Random	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	Random
10	Random	1,2,3,4,5	6,7,8,9,10	1,2,3,4,5	Random

8. Points awarded for each of the Championship races shall be:

Placing:	1st	2nd	3rd	4th	5th	6th
Points:	7	5	4	3	2	1

In the case of a dead heat of two or more horses sharing the same place, everyone will be given the score he/she would have received if he/she had been alone in that place.

- 9. If there are insufficient acceptors for a race, which prevents a selected driver from participating in any Championship race two race points will be added to his/her Championship tally.
- 10. In the event of a tie for any position on the points table, the driver with the greatest number of winning drives in the Championship races shall be declared the winner; if still tied the greater number of second placed drives and so on until the winner is declared. Should no winner be identified at the end of the initial count back then the winner shall be the driver who drove the most recent winner in the championship.

- 11. All drivers must compete in all races in the Series, unless unable to do so because of illness, injury or exceptional circumstances.
- 12. In the event a selected driver is not able to fulfill his/her driving engagement in any heat, a replacement driver will be provided by the local Amateur Driving Association. Any replacement driver may accrue points in the championship.
- 13. Any matter arising not covered by the above clauses shall be determined by the Handicapper in consultation with a representative of the NZ Amateur Drivers Association.